Create IIS Website problem

May 26, 2010 at 8:17 AM

I've execute websitecopy utility on step 6 of installation document. What does it do? Which content and where it copies? Also I try to execute step 12 . In the installation folder I've found two Website directory - C:\Accelerators\Customer Portal\Installation\Website\Customer-Portal-R2\Website. Which from them I should use for create iis web site? I've tried to create web site both ways, but can't browse tham.

May 26, 2010 at 9:14 AM

Hi

I am no expert like Shan but the website copy takes the web pages from the customer portal folder and inserts the definitions into Dynamics. It does not create a website as such.

Thanks

Ewan

May 26, 2010 at 9:53 AM
Edited May 26, 2010 at 10:25 AM

My understanding is that websitecopy is used to initialise many variables inside the CRM. It don't understand how it is linked to IIS then. So I have the same question as 4olega : when creating the IIS website (step 16), I suppose that the steps are the same as for previous accelerators :

1. Create a new web site using the wizard
  2. Point to the files that the web site will use : wich directory should we choose : C:\Accelerators\Customer Portal\Installation\Website\ or C:\Accelerators\Customer Portal\Installation\Website\Customer-Portal-R2\Website ?
  3. Do we have to allow anonyous access ?
  4. I suppose that we have to allow "Run scripts (sucha as ASP)"

I've tried all combinations between choices above, and nothing works. I have 2 different results. Most of the time, I got a 403 error :

The website declined to show this webpage

HTTP 403

Most likely causes:

• This website requires you to log in.

What you can try:

Go back to the previous page.<noscript id="goBack"></noscript>

More information More information<noscript></noscript>